Casting on : Châle pour Maman – A Shawl For My Mother

While on vacation in the French Pyrénées, I went again to Mohair d’Aulon en Pyrénées, a small farm where a young lady raises Angora Goats and sells the Mohair yarns from her goats. The yarn is processed elsewhere (washed, spined and dyed) in environmental respecting procedures. The village is close to the Arbizon, a 2 831 m mountain in the Pyrénées.

The yarn is fabulous, soft and delightful to knit. I got several different yarns this time again, some from the regular Mohair line, some from the “Bouclette” mohair.

The regular combed and fluffy yarn comes in two weights and compositions :

  • Arbizon, 100 m for 50 g, 90% Super Kid Mohair (less than 28 microns) / 5% Merinos / 5% Silk
  • Arbizon fin n°2, 150 m for 50 g, 80% Super Kid Mohair (less than à 28 microns) / 10% Merinios / 10% Silk

The Bouclette mohair is not combed and forms little loops around the yarn, and has the same composition and weight as the Arbizon yarn, with a fun twist to it.

I casted on a shawl for my Mother, knitting as I go, with a few ideas. I casted on the same way the Boneyard Shawl from Stephen West was calling for and used the same idea to separate sections with a garter row. The Bouclette yarn I will use in plain stockinette sections, the Arbizon yarn I will use to knit some lace patterns from two wonderful books, The Second Treasury of Knitting Patterns by Barbara G. Walker and The Utimate Stich Dictionary from Vogue. I have not chosen all the lace patterns, I have a few of them, and I will see as I go.

This is going to be my Mother’s Christmas present, she sorta knows about it as she choose the Safran colour for both yarns.

I did not think I was going to enter the Find Your Fluff KAL Cadyjaxknits started on their Instagram account and on Ravelry, but here I am !

1 thought on “Casting on : Châle pour Maman – A Shawl For My Mother

  1. Pingback: Wooly News ⎮ #2 | Knit Now

Leave a comment