Finished Object : My Trendy Little Scarf

As you most probably already know, I sorta follow the little scarf trend. I have made 5 of them now, 2 for Christmas presents, the Sweet Li’l Scarfette by Ambah O’Brien and 3 for myself based on the Heatwave Scarf by Pia Trans. The ones made with mohair from La Bien Aimée or Fonty are soft, warm and beautiful. Just perfect with a shirt and a jacket. The one I made with this acrylic yarn my mother gave me I do not like, mostly because the yarn does no suit the pattern.

All that being said and done, I really wanted some other kind of scarf. A small one, in 1/1 rib and not garter that would stretch such as the Sophie Scarf by PetiteKnit, with pointy ends and a stitch motif. I had one stitch pattern in mind from one of my Japanese Stitch Dictionaries.

As soon as I finished the Heatwave scarves, I casted on a 1/1 rib, pointy ended little scarf with a wrapped stitch motif inspired from one of my Japanese Stitch Dictionary books. I like it a lot, and will make some more for gifts. I wanted a scarf that was not too wide, that would wrap twice around my neck, in 1/1 ribs that won’t deform when used, and with little pointy ends. I delivered !

Since then I made Additional ones, with Hosltagrn Tides in Pearl held double (left pic) and single (right pic). If I make another one with a single strand of Tides, I’ll increase the number of stitches and use a smaller needle size. The fabric is a little light and not wide enough. Perfect for a bag or as a headband though !

A perfect practice for a first design. I already have improvised sweaters and tee-shirts, non of them with a somewhat elaborated shape or a particular stitch pattern. Success and it perfectly fits my needs and requirements 😺💛

Companion YouTube VIdeo : https://youtu.be/Ur-wNzNi6ZY

1 thought on “Finished Object : My Trendy Little Scarf

  1. Pingback: Finished Objects : Two Hats For Christmas Presents | Knit Now

Leave a comment