My Yarn No Buy Year – September 2022 Check-in

I thought I would not buy much in September, thus making my average per month expenses a bit better and more in line with what I had anticipated. I did spend a log in July and August, mostly on beautiful yarn I am so happy to have with me.

Patterns

For a few days in September, Meret Buretzbergerbutszeria about everywhere, had a 20% discount on all of her patterns because she needed new glasses ! I had two of her patterns in my favorites, two beautiful tee-shirts, that I bought :

© Rheinfall Tee by Meret Buetzberger
© Verkehrt Pulli by Meret Buetzberger

The Verkehrt Pulli is a very interesting tee-shirt construction that you can wear right side up or upside down for a different effect. I anticipate it will be as fun to knit as it will be to wear. The Rheinfall Tee is a bit more classical with a waterfall type of collar, reminding Meret of one of her favorite places. The sample is in hemp, a fibre I am quite interested in trying. I may use some of the cotton I have in stash too 🙂

© Manhattan Hat by Tori Yu
© Borough Hood by Tori Yu

When Tori Yu released her Borough Hood, I immediately liked it, and recalled I already had the Manhattan Hat in my favourites. So I got both ! I’ve been wanting to knit a hood for about a year, when the ladies over at Cady Jax Knits made one. I do agree that every sweater should have their detachable hood. I still am planning for that project without having made any.. So yes, hoping a beautiful pattern will get live at some point. The Manhattan Hat is my next Christmas present cast on !

Yarn

Yes I am on a yarn no-buy project, no I have not paid for or planned to buy any. My second son was home a week ago, coming back from a conference in Glasgow. “Bring me yarn for my Bday” had I said to him as a joke, and he did ! He sent a picture from the shop and I sorta guided him by yarn composition (no acrylic if possible) and weight (DK) and he delivered ! He brought this Marriner 100% Superwash Merino in grey and white that caught my eye in the picture, and a couple additional colours of his choice, a true red, a bright gold and a cobalt blue.

Now to find a pattern to use all of them. They are not quite in my own colour realm.. What would you think of a Vertice Unite by Stephen West ? Too clingy ? I’m quite undecided, to be continued then !

So this September was quite quiet for spending, only €31,69, adding up to €1122,81 for this year, and €124,76 per month. Kinda making up for the summer frenzy 😺

Companion YouTube video : https://youtu.be/xp-ntr55JJU

2 thoughts on “My Yarn No Buy Year – September 2022 Check-in

  1. Pingback: My Yarn No Buy Year – October 2022 Check-in | Knit Now

  2. Pingback: Wooly Stories – The Yarn Gifted To Me – Part 2 | Knit Now

Leave a comment