My 2022 Birthday Cast-On : Magic Dots by Hinterm Stein

I had been looking for a pattern to use the yarn Théo, my second son, brought me from a science conference he attended in Cardiff last September. He is a PhD student and I am so proud of him !

He went to a store that was selling yarn among many other things and he got some Marriner DK Merino Pure Wool. I had asked for DK, because I do not have much of this yarn weight, even though I can double all the fingering I already own. He choose a grey and white Grey Twist (he had sent a pic of the rack in the store, and this one caught my eye), with a bright Cobalt Blue, a Cherry Red and Yellow Caramel. You can see the colours in my stash on Ravelry.

I searched for a pattern to use all the colours together, but as someone mentioned in a comment on my channel (sorry, I could not retrieve said comment to give proper credits..), these are too bright and would clash together. So I went for the grey and blue together (more in my colour realm) and the Magic Dot shawl pattern from Hinterm Stein.

© Magic Dots by Hinterm Stein

I do not think I will have enough of the grey to knit a second one with the red, so I’ll make two of my own Trendy Little Scarves, in red and in yellow. They will be nice colour accents for my winter outfits !

The Magic Dots is an interesting knit, I had never woven in contrasting colours, I had not checked the pattern before buying it and not even before casting on. A nice discovery and coincidence, we need to enjoy the cool surprises that life offers

Companion YouTube Video : https://youtu.be/VHVJKNU8dxY

2 thoughts on “My 2022 Birthday Cast-On : Magic Dots by Hinterm Stein

  1. Pingback: Finished Object : Magic Dots by Hinterm Stein | Knit Now

  2. Pingback: Wooly Stories – The Yarn Gifted To Me – Part 2 | Knit Now

Leave a comment