Wooly News ⎮#25

This first edition of 2023 will be very short and sweet, as the Wooly News series is an adjustment variable to my publications – when time is scarce, this is what does not make the cut. I’ve had a bit of time during the holiday season, and my taking care of my mother filled the little gaps of free time. this is not an excuse or an apology, just so that you know.

Patterns

© Ramble Jumper 2.0 by Irene Lin

I have had my eyes on Irene Lin patterns for quite a while now, and she is re-publishing the Ramble Jumper with modifications and additional sizes. The original version was published on LoveCrafts in 2019. I love this design. Is that the colour choice ? The lovely details at the bottom and on the collar ? I do not know, and this one is going to my “I Want To Make” bundle on Ravelry. the test knits are inspirational as always, some very subdued, som very colourful. I may reconsider the wide sleeves though, as they usually are not very practical for me.

Free Patterns Highlights

© Saturday Shrug by Jackie Rose

I was going to highlight another pattern, and I am not sure my choice will need any traction. Any way, Jackie from the Cady Jax Knit YouTube channel just released a free shrug pattern, the Saturday Shrug, that can very easily be adapted to any yarn weight (just change the number of stitches) and colours, stripes height and qualifies as a good stash buster. An additional good point for you if you are on a Yarn-No-Buy Year project. I placed it in my “Want To Make” list.

Yarn Companies and Stores

La Bien Aimée

Once again, this company I love has caught my attention. First because they have a section I had not noticed before, Happy Accidents.

© la Bien Aimée – Happy Accidents

These are one of a kind, skeins or batches of skeins that did not end up being as intended or as previously made if from a recurrent colour way. They can be too light, too dark, too cool, too warm etc And that are still quite beautiful of course. These skeins are discounted regarding the regular yarn base price and can be quite interesting as they contribute to reduce waste !

One additional news I already have been talking about in Wooly News #22 back in September 2022, is that La Bien Aimée is going to release a new book with Laine Publishing. We sort of have a release date as Aimée stated that “La Bien Aimée will have a pop-up shop in Paris at the end of March and beginning of April to celebrate the release”. From the description of the location “a beautiful passage in the center of Paris, surrounded by lots of charming restaurants and cafés”. I was willing to place my bet is on Lil Weasel, a charming store passage du Grand Cerf, that perfectly fits the description, but it appress it will be 27 passage Choiseul in the 2nd arrondissement. Anyway, we’ll see once it is officially published 🙂

De rerum natura

De Rerum Natura has released a new colour for they Ulysse and Gilliatt bases, Cacao.

© De Rerum Natura

This deep brownish colour has deep red mahogany highlights, making it quite interesting as they say it changes with light. They used two shades of brown with an additional shade of black to make this vibrant colour.

To note, La Bien Aimée uses Gilliatt to dye their own special colour ways, so if you like them both as I do, it could be an option to get LBA colours on this wooden spun base. Do I have to say they have Winterfell on Gilliatt 😻

Who Am I Knitting With ?

Who am I listening to right now ?

Without any surprises, as I am a teen of the seventies, I always default to Pink Floyd when I need comfort, easy listening, known vibes and tunes, and music I know I like from the beginning to the end. Even if I prefer the beginning and the middle albums, up to Animals sorta. I listen to later ones though !

My all times favorites albums are Wish You Were Here and Dark Side Of The Moon. When I was 13, I got a cassette player and money to buy two albums. These are the ones I listened to up to the tape shredding into pieces, that I have in vinyl, in CD, several versions of the same album, some in DVD when they exist etc. So you see, I did not participate to the battle between The Beatles and The Rolling Stones (even if I prefer TRS) as I was a Pink Floyd die hard fan. I am listening to Cre/ation : The Early Years 1976/1972 as I write, and I set up to listen to the whole series when I drove down for half a day during the end of year holidays 🙂

Series or YouTube

I have finished Supernatural, and The Rings Of Power. I did not talk about the latest one because I stopped watching any other show or series while going all the way up to the last episode of the 15th season of Supernatural. I liked the end TBW.

As I am a Pink Floyd child, I am a LOTR child too. When I left to go to the US after my PhD graduation, I was 25, had one suitcase, $100 in my pocket (and a post-doc waiting for me) and the three LOTR books that I had read time and time again, and still am. Another comfort reading for me. I liked the movies, the series is OK. It takes place before the LOTR books (I have read and seen the other books and movies, not as much though) and found it entertaining enough. Not the greatest, not the worst.

I have now to find a show or series to watch, if you have suggestions please comment down below, thanks 😊

Companion YouTube Video : https://youtu.be/IXzarq3_Hn8

Leave a comment