Finished Object : A Colourful Kallara !

No so typical for me, and as my self reflexions lead me to, I like knitting a few colourful pieces to go with my mostly monochromatic blue or neutral wardrobe. Blue is my black and my neutral.

Laine Select

When I saw the variegated Sunrise or Sunset skein from Laine Select at a quilting festival (who could have guessed that driving my mother there I would walk out with two skeins from an indie dyer..), I knew I wanted it to come home with me.

I really procrastinated on a companion skein. I had nothing in my stash that would go with it, and I did not know what to choose. After lots of talks with Véronique, and lots of trials, I settled on this dark plum one. It is even darker in person, almost black with that special hue.

Kallara by Ambah O’Brian
Kallara by Ambah O’Brian

Then I waited for a pattern opportunity. One of my YouTube subscriber suggested the Kallara, and it clicked. That was a perfect match. Casting on got pushed up a bit from my waiting list as I had injured a finger and could not knit with mohair (one cowl is on hold..) or with precise work (that vest is finished now ). My finger is better but I cannot knit with mohair for now, too much fluff that can get caught where it should not.

The Kallara is a smaller shawl, very elongated, light and joyful, ideal for summer weather.

My Ravelry project : https://www.ravelry.com/projects/IsabelleGD/kallara

7 thoughts on “Finished Object : A Colourful Kallara !

    • Indeed, like something is clicking ! In that case, I started with the (uncommon for me) yarn and looked for a pattern. I could not find any and asked on my YT channel. One subscriber suggested the Kallara, and it clicked 😺

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Wow, I love it! The color combo and the pattern were made for each other. I can imagine a lot of wonderful summer days in its company. 🙂

    Hope your finger mends quickly and you can get back to your finer projects.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: My Yarn No Buy Year : Year 3 – January 2024 Check-in and adjusting my regulations | Knit Now

Leave a comment