Wooly Stories – Sheep Breeds I Knit With : Laines À L’Ouest

I love to explore the history of the sheep breeds I knit wool from. Know the sheep I knit from in a way. Some of you are waiting for a post about Atelier Pure Laine, it is coming next I promise. This one was under the making since this summer, so ..

During the summer 2022, I visited Laines à L’Ouest, a farm involved in Normandy rare sheep conservation process. According to my own set of guidelines for my Yarn No-Buy Year Project, I can get yarn from places I visit in person. Do not get me wrong, I went to Lessay on purpose (that is about 2h drive), to spend the day there and visit this lovely area in Cotentin, and of course go to their shop. I got two 1kg cones for myself, and a few other skeins they nicely caked for me, that I sent to a good friend who lives in Australia. She is one of the persons who spoiled me with marvellous yarn from her country (and I still have to write about this yarn too !).

Laines à l’Ouest
Laines à l’Ouest

The little shop is magical, full of ancient and modern vibes. They also host a few creations by local artists and I got spinning tops made of ancient watches wheels and parts, my sons loved them (that was a little Christmas gift I added for them). Poteries were not much of my taste even though I love poteries. Too many flower prints I guess.

Their project is to revive and maintain local sheep breeds that almost got extinct at some point. They are using three main breeds, one of them being endangered and part of a local and national conservation process, the Roussin de la Hague, Avranchin and Cotentin. The sheep live outside year round and their fields are by the sea. The only moments they move to the barns are during the high tides because their fields are under water, and strong storms.

The shop and flock owners use natural processes and dyes, which fits my bills. I bought two undyed 1kg cones in their sport weight base, a creamy white and a greyish brown obtained mixing black, grey, brown and white fleeces.

Yarn And Projects

The yarn is very rustic, sturdy, quite dry to the touch and a delight to knit (I like to have tension on my finger). It relaxes, blooms and softens upon blocking. My experience after multiple wears is that it does not pill and will be quite durable.

As I had already written at the time, in the shop, it immediately clicked in my head I would knit the Highland Thistle Sweater by Carolyn Holbrook with their spots weight.

Highland Thistle Sweater by Carolyn Holbrook
Emsworth by Isabell Kraemer

So I did, and then two months later I casted on the Emsworth by Isabell Kraemer. These are two of my favorite knits. I like yarn that has structure, even though I do understand the use and need for a fabric with drape, knit with super wash yarn for example. It is my personal preference and you do you. Some shawls or tee-shirts benefit from a nice drape, I like when the yarn and fabric hold onto themselves, when the stitches are sticky and not going anywhere. The Laines À L’Ouest yarn perfectly fits that bill.

I then casted on the Barbara sweater by Marianne Isager with both for the colour work. I love knitting it, I am sure I will love the finished sweater. It will be light and warm, with a good humidity protection I guess, like my two other knits.

Barbara by Marianne Isager

I forgot to weight out the cones before casting on, so it will be a bit difficult to tell how much I used out of each, at the end. We’ll see and I will have to make educated guesses !

All in all, Laines À L’Ouest is in my life to stay, and a 2h drive, quite easy. That said, I did not go back there last summer, so may be next year. Going there for a day, have lunch by the sea in the sun, bring back some beautiful yarn, I know why I did not do it last summer even though it sounds like a perfect trip. I am looking forward to doing it again. I’ll make sure I’ll bring you with me 🙂

YouTube Companion Video : https://youtu.be/Ba_TDE9QjiM?si=J3bdkVQFOnag9E_E

3 thoughts on “Wooly Stories – Sheep Breeds I Knit With : Laines À L’Ouest

Leave a comment