Casting On : Silata Scarves

First time I am doing “Two at a time”. I know, usually people knit two socks at the same time, to avoid the second sock syndrome. Not long ago, I even saw someone knitting four or six socks at a time (not sure I recall where !), not being the same patterns 😲 Quite an achievement to me who can hardly handle two projects at the same time.

So this is a bit of a challenge, I have to place safety nets – ie a marker where I need to pick up next time I sit and knit (for a bit πŸ˜‰ at Arne and Carlos) because I had to rip and start over once..

That said, the pattern is the Silata Scarf from Marie-Amelie Designs Ensemble Book. To note, the pattern is called Silene on Ravelry should you prefer to get the pattern alone.

Both scarves are Christmas presents for my two eldest sons. Samuel, my oldest son asked for black, and my eyes not being what they used to be he accepted a middle grey. ThΓ©o, my second son, asked for white, and he finally agreed to a lighter blue after I pointed out that white would rapidly turn yellow around his neck. None of them know the exact yarn and colour, neither do they know the pattern.

Having finished the first pattern repeat, there are 15 of them, I am a bit concerned I will run out of yarn .. The sample in the book was knitted with BC Yarn Hamelton Tweed 1, the Fonty Polaire I used is a perfect match considering meters per grams and needle size, so I got the recommended 6 balls. I got gauge with the recommended needle size (4.5 mm) and garter pattern, and am still on gauge with the knitted slip stitches pattern. One ball will goes for about 1.3 repeat so I’ll need almost twice the recommended amount πŸ™€

I called the Filature Fonty and ordered 5 balls in each colour, that is what I’ll need to finish them. Fortunately, they still had the same dye lots in stock, one of them I even got the very last ball.. Oh well !

Has it ever happened to you ? I mean, you need almost twice the recommended yardage for a pattern that calls for the same yarn weight with the same meter per grams, the same needle size and a correct gauge for both the swatch and the knitted object ? I do not understand what I am missing.. Thanks !

Companion Youtube Podcast : https://youtu.be/qP-mbGM5vHo

3 thoughts on “Casting On : Silata Scarves

  1. Pingback: Acquisition : Twisted Stitch Sourcebook by Norah Gaughan | Knit Now

  2. Pingback: My Work In Progress – It Is Taking Forever ! | Knit Now

  3. Pingback: Finished Objects : The Silata Scarves Are Finally Done ! | Knit Now

Leave a comment