Wooly News ⎮#8

Patterns

shawlography by tribeyarns – a stunning interpretation

© JetSetMilli
© JetSetMilli

© JetSetMilli

If you have not been aware of the last 2021 Stephen West KAL, you may have been living under a rock without any internet access ! Now that all the clues have been revealed, and that many people posted their finished objects, I can talk about the incredible work that Milli from tribe Yarns has completed. She took the pattern, as 7800+ other people have (as I write), and she made a piece of art. A real master piece, unique, stunning and so inspirational. A black and white monochromatic interpretation, with a bit of gold, a texture adventure more than a colour adventure, as she said herself.

To be completely honest, last year I bought yarn for the slipstravaganza after seeing her own colour choice, and I am yet to knit it. The yarn is patiently waiting in my room. this is how I discovered her, and since then her special sense for colour combinations have never stopped to amaze me 🙂

You can follow her on Instagram and Ravelry.

knit.love.wool new design

© Jennifer Steingass

Jennifer Steingass, Knit.Love.Wool on Instagram and lovewool-knits on Ravelry has a new pattern design underway, after a long interruption for health reasons as she mentioned on an Instagram post. I really like her colour works, the originality of her patterns, her soft, sensible eye and the way she translates nature figures in her subtle patterns. I’ll be waiting for the release and during the waiting time, you can check all of her other beautiful creations.

Sorrel is Two ..

© Wool & Pine

.. And had many offsprings and variations ! What a clever and brilliant pattern. I own the book, I knitted the Summer Sorrel, and I have some beautiful yarn waiting for a bit of my time. Wool & Pine say this is how it all started and look at where they are now. Famous and productive with over 25 patterns, 3 books, and a small business. A success story 🙂

espace tricot has released a new free pattern : gingerbread sweater

© Espace Tricot

And a beautiful simple one that is. The Gingerbread Sweater appeals to me because of its modern shape, a bit cropped, quite relaxed and because it will be the perfect project for either the Donkey grey or Scot Pine Brown Holst Garn yarn I just got !

Another beautiful textured pattern

© Olga Buraya-Kefelian

You are going to be tired of me, I love textured and original patterns. Tulsa from Olga Buraya-Kefelian is another one from the same creator I already talked about. All of her creations are marvellous. Tulsa is an older pattern from 2014, amazing how her creations, seven years later, are still so on point, interesting, original. I will for sure have a special place for this pattern in my daydreams, along with the two other ones I previously talked about.

Tutorial

Hintersmtein trick

© hintermstein

Anyone who had problems placing yarn through a needle hole please raise your hand 🙋‍♀️ I have !

I never thought of this, what a nice little trick. In short, sacrifice a small part of the tip of the yearn that you stick into adhesive paper, then cut it to shape it so that it can go through the needle. My ageing eyes will be forever grateful to Hintermstein !

Yarn Companies and Stores

next batch of la bien aimee corrie confetti will be out in december

© La Bien Aimée

This yarn is a limited edition and one of a kind, where all the yarn bits and pieces from the mill, the dying studio and such are mixed into a Falkland Corriedale base for a unique result. Recycling sobers that way is a very interesting idea and concept, for an exceptional and unique result. One day, I will get a sweater quantity 🙂

Virtual knit knight with La bien aimée – nov 19th (today as this is posted !)

For the upcoming release of Worsted, the book La Bien Aimée created for Laine Magazine with, as the title says, worsted weight yarn patterns that she selected, she is hosting a virtual knit night the day this post (and YouTube podcast) is going live. All information about LBA events are here : https://www.labienaimee.com/pages/events. I am teaching almost until the event starts, so I may not be able to attend, or may I be fashionably late ?

Books, Magazines and Articles

laine Magazine 13

© Laine Magazine

Preorders to Laine 13 are open. It will feature 10 knitting and & 1 crochet patterns for winter, along with articles, recipes and interviews. The issue will be out on December 10, previews will be available on December 03 on both Laine Magazine website and Ravelry. I preordered a bundle with issues 12, 13 and 14, so I will show it to you once I get it 🙂

Comfort knit

Talking about Laine Magazine, the second theme of 52 Weeks of Shawls KAL ends on the 14th, time to wrap up your projects and plan for the new one ! I just got the email for the new theme : Comfort Knit, and it will run from November 15, 2021 to February 6, 2022. Depending on how my own knitting plans go, I may join this one (I did for the first one, not the second).

The hashtag on Instagram is #52weeksofshawlskal, the Ravelry group is here : https://www.ravelry.com/groups/laine-magazine

Companion YouTube Podcast : https://youtu.be/MYPiR4PZ-qk

1 thought on “Wooly News ⎮#8

  1. Pingback: Wooly News ⎮#10 | Knit Now

Leave a comment