My Yarn No Buy Year

#YarnNoBuyYear

why

I have been reflecting on my recent buys, like a lot. I bought too much, and it makes me feel uncomfortable. Not that I went into a difficult money situation, I could afford everything I bought, because I make choices. And these choices were impulsive, buying yarn with no intension or no pattern in mind is not my jam. And I did it, yarn started to accumulate, I have more that I can knit in a whole year.

I have the tendency to accumulate, clothes, food backups, makeup mostly. I do accumulate books and CDs and that does not make me feel uncomfortable because I cycle through my books, my music, almost every day. Not food that eventually go bad, not makeup that also eventually go bad, at a slower pace though (and I love makeup), not clothes that I end up wearing once or twice a year.

I think I know where it comes from, I have worked on it. Having a YouTube knitting Podcast since last summer had me follow and watch a lot more other channels, Instagram and FaceBook accounts. I see people live in what could be yarn stores, with walls filled with yarn behind them. I’m OK with that, and you do you. It is not for me. Last Holstgarn Haul, shortly after the first one, was the one over the top. I’ve felt bad about what I did the second I hit the “buy” button.

Do not get me wrong, the yarn is lovely, I like everything about it, I will use it, just it could have been waiting for me in the shop, waiting I find the adequate pattern and that it clicks in my head, yarn + pattern association. This is how I’m used to buying yarn, with a project in mind. Here I bought yarn for the sake of buying it.

inventory

So. What to do. First I did an inventory of all the yarn I have, all the patterns or projects I want to knit with most of it. You can have a recent glimpse at my recent acquisitions.. There are over 15 sweaters, several shawls and there will be enough left overs for hats, mitts, berets or other ideas that can come along. Second (or first in my process), I will adventure in a Yarn No Buy Year, knit what I have in stock until none or barely none is left. I could take me over a year, so be it.

Wanna come along ? I’ll be using the hashtags #YarnNoBuyYear on both YouTube and maybe Instagram if there are some useful things and pics to say and show there. I’ll also be documenting my journey on my small YouTube channel, hopefully freeing space in both my house and my mind.

I currently feel so cluttered (is that a word ?).

guidelines

To make this adventure enjoyable and sustainable for a year or more, I think I need some kind of rules or guidelines :

  • Yarn :
    • I’ll allow myself to buy limited edition yarns, the ones I would be missing once they are gone. For examples, Treliz mystery boxes if the mood-board talks to me. I like her, I like her work, I want to support her and contribute to her community ; La Bien Aimée Corrie Confetti, I still miss the Ochre release from last year and will miss the grey one from this year ; or any other yarn I know I will be thinking of once it is gone. Not sure how many times I’ll allow myself to do that, may be once or twice next year, not more
    • I’ll buy yarn for presents if I do not have what I need in my stash. I am mostly a selfish knitter, I’ve knit for others only for Christmas. See you either next summer 2022 if I go to the Pyrénées so that I can bring back lovely mohairs in colours I won’t wear myself, or at the end of 2022 depending on what I have in mind
    • I may also buy yarn to knit a project along with a stashed yarn. Not sure on that one, I may just wait until my stash is mostly gone
    • If I go on vacation or to an event or go visit a producer, a mill, a yarn shop (there are a couple in Normandie that I have never made time to visit), I may buy some yarn either as souvenir or for a specific project
  • I’ll also allow myself to buy replacement items, notions, needles etc. if any break or if I am in need of a special item for a special project
  • Patterns, I will continue to buy the patterns I want to knit, or to support creators, causes etc.
  • Books. I love books, I cannot stop buying books all together. So I’ll allow myself one book a month, I do not know yet if magazines will count as books. I guess yes. For example, I have a 3 issues subscription to Laine Magazine, I may just count that one as a single buy, even if I end up receiving three books. Having too much yarn is a thing to me, not having too much books, or CDs, go figure 🙂
  • I have been wanting a swift and a ball winder for a very long time. Investing in good quality ones may be my reward. I’m not much into rewards, we’ll see what I end up doing and if I need a happy ending and a goal other than clearing the clutter

So, what do you think ? Are you with me on that one ? See you around for inputs and reporting !

Companion YouTube Podcasts : https://youtu.be/EOa4S1VRuU8 and https://youtu.be/-mWiR_-wdrk